Permit Required for Truckers in Insect Quarantine Area

To help stop the spread of an invasive species of insect, The Spotted Lanternfly, the agriculture departments within each impacted state have instituted a quarantine zone that includes 14 Pennsylvania counties, three New Jersey counties and one county in both Delaware and Virginia.

Counties Currently Affected Include:

  • Pennsylvania:
    • Berks, Bucks, Carbon, Chester, Dauphin, Delaware, Lancaster, Lehigh, Monroe, Montgomery, Northampton, Philadelphia, and Schuylkill
  • New Jersey:
    • Warren, Hunterdon, and Mercer
  • Virginia:
    • Fredericks
  • Delaware:
    • New Castle

Motor carriers working within the quarantine, who move vehicles, products or other conveyances within or out of the quarantine are required to obtain a permit.

To obtain a permit, a designated individual from an organization must receive training and pass an online test to demonstrate a working knowledge and understanding of the pest and quarantine requirements. Training of other employees, inspection of vehicles and products, and removal of living stages of spotted lanternfly must be completed. The permit demonstrates that you understand how to identify the pest and can ensure the items transported are not carrying the insect. After the specific employees receive training, vehicles that will travel through the area are granted an orange decal that indicates that the truck is cleared to do business in the area.

For instructions on accessing and completing a free, online training course through the Penn State University Extension, click here.

The permits are also reciprocal in the other affected states.

Additional Links to Exams: